Homemade Scented Play Dough

Homemade play dough is the thing to do these days. I sometimes wonder how much profit Hosbro has lost as Pintrest and mommy-blogs pick up in popularity, spreading the millions of play dough recipes out there.

I’m not against regular store bought play dough. I don’t believe it’s harmful, or that buying it proves someone loves their child less. In fact, I’m most certain that one of these days we’ll have a few store-bought play dough supplies strung around this house.

The creative side of me, however, wins over this time around.  I finally had a chance to try out something I’ve been wanting to do…scented play dough.

I know, I know. Using koolaid powder isn’t everyone’s idea of a good children’s activity. I’ve had a number of crunchy friends shake their head over this. Oh well. We had fun, and as far as I can tell my kid hasn’t grown any weird mutations from playing with such non-organic junk. In fact, I don’t think he ate any of it at all.

If you’re not afraid of koolaid exposure, try this one out. I did find that the colors were not all what I expected. I forgot that the green packets actually turn pinkish once mixed with water. Next time I’ll just mix the yellow and blue (I really wanted the green one). I also will end up skipping some of the pinks since there was an abundance of that, and rather than the regular cherry flavor I’ll give “dark cherry” a try next time. I’m hoping for a deeper red.

I was really happy to see how much fun this stuff brought, and I even had the chance to get some chores done while it had my little guy distracted. For extra fun I threw in spoons, cups, colorful feathers, and popsicle sticks. Next time we play with it (because I did store it for another time) I’ll add in cookie cutters.

Scented Play dough

Ingredients 
(each recipe is for one color,which equals to about 1 regular container of play dough, maybe a little more)
1 cup flour
1/2 cup salt
1 envelope koolaid mix
2 tsp cream tartar
1 cup water
1 tbs oil

Directions:
Mix flour, salt, koolaid powder, and cream of tartar in a sauce pan. Stir in water and oil. Heat over medium heat, stirring regularly.

Dough will begin to form a clump in the middle of the pan (about 5 minutes). Once desired texture is formed, take the pot off of heat and let dough cool.1424478855.png

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

