Mud Painting

Spring is finally here! I can now throw open the windows, and start thinking about the plants I want to put in my garden! Most importantly we can go outside for activities that include something other than freezing! No more stir-crazy insanity!

Which brings me to today’s activity. With it being just after the time change my son’s sleep schedule is all kinds of a mess. Not wanting another night like the one I had last night, I took a deep breath and skipped his nap for the day. As 3PM came around, I could sense that he needed major distraction. Meltdown mode was on it’s way.

So we went outside.

There is nothing like a barefooted toddler running around a grassy lawn without pants (which he has refused to wear today on more than one occasion). It was absolutely adorable. The one thing th2878756at was missing, however, was MUD!

I mean, come on, what’s the point of childhood without some nice clean mud to play in? So I found a small bucket, dug up some dirt (or in our case clay, which is what this area is made out of), and added water. While we were at it, I decided to make this into an art project.

Seeing that the weeds have slowly begun their invasion in the front lawn, we first took the time to pick some dandelions (along with other colorful weeds I don’t know the names of). This in and of itself was an activity that he adored. Once I had a good handful, we went to the back deck and started making our “mud art”. I simply handed him flowers, paintbrushes, and paper.

He dug right in!

The distraction was a success. At first he was concentrated on the painting, and even used the dandelions as brushes at one point. He also discovered that they can “color” yellow when you rub them on the page).

After a while, he eventually found the joy of simply splashing around in the bucket. The weeds went in, as well as his bare hands. It was pure childhood.

Needless to say we came inside with happy moods, and his activity choices after our dirty adventure have been low key and quiet. I’m anticipating fits of exhaustion eventually, but for now I bought some time. Most importantly, however, we had fresh air, sunshine, and natural fun.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

