Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

I had been wanting to try these cookies for weeks. August came to an end, September was in full swing, and I couldn’t find the time to make them. Being a few days past my due date, I was getting rather restless and eventually decided that it was now or never for these cookies.

Well, the day I had planned to make them started with a doctor’s visit to my OB for a non-stress test. Apparently I was having contractions without even realizing it. After speaking to the practice’s midwife, I was under the impression that baby would be coming soon, but not soon enough (in my opinion of what “soon enough” meant). I was sure we would end up going in for our scheduled induction the next day. I sent my husband to work, assuring him that I would keep count of the contractions and let him know when he needed to come home. If he needed to.

My day was spent sitting around the house playing Minecraft, and timing my contractions. I was still determined to make these cookies later that night. About 4PM I started to time contractions at 10 minutes apart, and while they still weren’t strong enough to make me consider the fact that I was in labor, I did feel them a little more than I had before.

After my husband came home, there was a lot of waiting around. Eventually I wanted to go to the grocery store, much to my husbands amusement, to buy a sugar pumpkin. Didn’t I say I wanted to make cookies?  So we went to the grocery store while I continued to count contractions, and we bought a sugar pumpkin.

I baked the pumpkin, scooped the pulp out, pureed it, and then worked on the cookies…all while counting contractions every 6-7 minutes.

My husband was betting on a 3AM hospital run. I rolled my eyes because I was convinced it was false labor.

The cookies were made, and they were delicious. At midnight I realized that I wasn’t going to be able to sleep, and we started getting ready to go. Our baby boy was coming.

So obviously these cookies are very near and dear to my heart. They are the infamous cookies I baked while in labor. And I hope you enjoy them as much as we did.

Ingredients: 
1 sugar pumpkin
3 tbs mayonnaise
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1 cup white sugar
2 cups flour
1 tsp baking powder
1 1/2 tsp all spice
1 tsp milk
1 tbs vanilla
1 bag of chocolate chips

Directions

1) Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Make pumpkin puree by opening up the pumpkin and scooping out the insides (discard seeds and stringy stuff). Cut the pumpkin into pieces, and place on cookie sheet inside part facing down. Bake for about 45 minutes. Scoop pulp away from skin and toss in a blender to puree.

2) In a large bowl, mix 1 cup of pumpkin puree, mayonnaise, vegetable oil, and sugar.

3) In a separate bowl, mix flour, baking powder, all spice, and milk. Pour into pumpkin mix. Stir until well blended. Add vanilla and chocolate chips.

4) Bake at 350 degrees F. for 11 minutes

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

