Window Bag Painting

There are a number of things my son really enjoys. The list includes art, mess, light, sensory play, and looking out of windows (if he’s not playing outside).

I’m going to be completely upfront in saying that today was one of those days where I really, really didn’t want to clean up paint spills. Those who know me can imagine how stressed I must have been, because normally I’m all for at least one messy activity a day.

So how did I handle the struggle of nap time? I combined the art, light, sensory play, and windows that I mentioned above….minus the mess.

It was incredibly simple and kept my son entertained for a good while, which gave me the chance to take a deep breath. The set up was as simple as pouring paint into a zip lock bag (some with one color, others with multiple colors), taping it to the window with duct tape, and letting him squish around the paint.

This project works a lot better when you choose a window that catches the sun well, since the light coming through the paint and makes a sort of stained glass effect.

It was a lot of fun watching him, and even I became enchanted with squishing the paint around to make various designs.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

