Liquid Chalk

I don’t think I need to go into detail why outside time is crucial for small children. Whether it’s improved vision, a dose of vitamin D, or simply a release of energy and gain of exercise, we can list a number of benefits that come with setting children free from the indoors. A good rule of thumb is that kids should spend at the least an hour a day outside.

I grew up in the outdoors. I loved sunshine, I loved snow, I loved rain, I loved everything about the fresh air and what seemed to be limitless boundaries. I was always outside. But I also grew up surrounded by woods that created an enchanting atmosphere. Unfortunately my son doesn’t have that at the moment. He has a regular yard in a regular neighborhood.

Now, don’t get me wrong. I’m super grateful that we live in our house, with our yard, in our neighborhood. It is, however, somewhat of a challenge trying to fit in time for the outdoors. The things that drew me outside as a kid were far different than what’s available to him at this point in time, and more often than not we resort to doing the same things we do inside.

We play with cars. He rides his little push truck along the driveway the same way he does in the living room. We run around chasing each other. We sit and read books.

He has a lot of fun, and I don’t feel like I’m failing in anyway. I just keep trying to figure out how to make outside time special.

As I’ve said in past posts, my son really loves arts and crafts. So today I thought I’d bring the art outside. We’ve played with chalk before, but this time around I decided to change it up by making liquid chalk.

2878756

What You Need:
– Squirt bottles (or spray bottles if you want to give spray chalk a try)
– 3 cups of water
– 6 tablespoons of cornstarch
– Food coloring
– A bowl to mix everything in
– A funnel, or something that helps make pouring easier

The bottles are easy enough to get a hold of. Most dollar stores will have them in their cleaning supply or kitchenware section. The best part is the fact that once we’re done with the chalk, they can be washed out and put away for another use.2878756

To start out the activity mix the water and cornstarch together. My son loves helping in the kitchen, so this alone was exciting enough. Once that is well combined, add the food coloring (one color per batch).

For each of the colors I used 10 drops. The yellow turned out very well, and the red was nice and vibrant (though I may add more drops in the future to make it red instead of pinkish). The green was a little weak and more of a yellow, so next time I’ll add significantly more drops. The blue also needed to be a little stronger, as it turned out to be more of a gray color on the pavement.

Once the coloring is mixed into the liquid, simply pour it into the bottles and go outside!

This was perhaps among the more successful activities I’ve introduced to my son. He loved squirting the colors onto our driveway, and was fascinated by the designs he could make. I didn’t expect it, but he ended up using every drop!

One thought on “Liquid Chalk

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

